“The Best Damn Book Box” Subscription Review

For those of you that may not know, a book subscription box is when a company sends you a box every month with a book and typically anywhere from 3-5 bookish goodies. There are so many of these boxes out there -OwlCrate, Uppercase Box, NovelTea Box, Fairyloot, The Nerdy Bookworm Box, and so many more. This particular review is going to be about The Best Damn Book Box, and contrary to its name it is definitely not the best.

I have received two boxes from TBDBB. The first box was extremely disappointing, and while the second box was slightly better I still wasn’t super impressed. Especially when there are so many other boxes out there that are so much better quality and less expensive. I’ll go through the contents of each box and then my overall experience with the company itself and their customer service.

image_zpslx3fdmd4

The first box I received was the May box, which did not arrive until mid July. I don’t mind the box being late, but generally you expect to get the box in the month you purchase it. I wouldn’t have minded so much if it had just been a little late, but it didn’t come until mid July. 

The book included in this box -A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas- looks and sounds great but it is the second book in a series. Which is, in my opinion, not terribly respectful of your subscribers because you are assuming that everyone has read the first book. But not all of us have. I certainly hadn’t, and now I’m stuck with a book I can’t read until after I have bought and read the first one. Generally speaking book subscription boxes stick to stand alone novels or books that are the first in a series. I have never before encountered a box that did not stick to that unwritten rule, and I’ve tried a lot of book boxes.

The other major problem I had with this box was that the items included were very poor quality. There were three paper items -one of which was ripped and therefore thrown away before I even took the picture. There was also a cheap necklace, a flimsy bookmark, some sort of chocolate in an open package, some tea, and a candle. The only items I kept were the tea and the candle. The bookmark also came torn, which was disappointing.

image_zpsj6gqyqcm

The second box I received from TBDBB came yesterday, and was much better than the first box. Although, that really isn’t saying much. The book that was included in this box was The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye. This book is the first in a new series, so already that is better then the last box. It was a hard cover, and I was happy with the book choice -even though I already own and have read this one. (It’ll make a good gift!)

The items in this box were a mixed bag, there were a few great items and a few disappointing ones. There were two adorable magnetic Game of Thrones themed bookmarks which I loved, a great wooden Game of Thrones coaster, a nice watercolor Jon Snow bookmark, and a beautiful Khaleesi art print. Some of the disappointing items were a poor quality necklace that had a broken clasp, two of the exact same buttons with the image peeling off on the back, a “book plate” with no way to stick it to the inside of a book, and some sort of wax melts. Every box comes with a card that lists all the items included, and my box was actually missing an item (a bookmark) which was disappointing.

The other major problem I had with this subscription was the price when compared to the quality of the boxes. Each month of TBDBB costs $40 American, $20 American for shipping, and when I received the first box I was charged an additional $30 in duty fees which has never ever happened to me before with any of the international boxes I’ve tried. I will say though that when I contacted TBDBB with my concerns about the additional charges they were quick to reply and come up with a solution.

Overall, while the second box was definitely an improvement on the first one I don’t think this particular subscription is worth it. The poor quality items and missing item in the second box as well as the extremely poor overall quality of the first box just do not make this subscription worth the money. There are so many other boxes that are much better then this one.

**Have you tried any book box subscriptions? If so, which ones have you tried and what did you think? If not then will you be trying one out?**

6 thoughts on ““The Best Damn Book Box” Subscription Review

  1. Natasha says:

    It’s too bad that your box wasn’t what you hoped it would be! Are you going to try a different one next time?

    Also, I just read your profile. You’re from Vancouver Island? I’m from Vancouver (Richmond)! Small world 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alyssa says:

    I actually haven’t tried subscribing to any subscription box because shipping fee is expensive (I live in the Philippines so it’ll be REALLY expensive for me). As much as I want to, I really can’t because I have more priorities in life. :(( I actually want to try Fairy Loot and Owlcrate.

    Liked by 1 person

    • hollieohsbookreviews says:

      I can only imagine how much the shipping would be! And here I am complaining about shipping costs to Canada! I’ve only had one Fairyloot crate before but it was so worth it, if you ever want to save up and buy one I definitely recommend it.

      Like

  3. dreamingofcats says:

    I haven’t had good experiences with BDBB either, sorry to hear you were disappointed as well. >_< On the sequel issue – BDBB was the first box I know of to send one and that was so irritating on top of delays and other issues. But another box recently also sent a sequel, only they were thoughtful enough to include an ebook of the first for those who hadn't read it. I thought that was super classy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

