Fear the Drowning Deep – ARC Review

I received an ARC of Fear The Drowning Deep by Sarah Glenn Marsh from Sky Horse Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

I was super excited when I received this one, because it has been one of my most anticipated releases of 2016. Fear the Drowning Deep was beautiful and haunting. Set in the early 1900s in the Isle of Man, Marsh did a spectacular job of transporting her reader. The writing was enchanting, and the descriptions were beautiful. I happen to live in a small island town myself, so I was able to relate to the setting really well.

It took me a while to warm up to the main character Bridey. She was a confidant, family oriented, and caring main character. She had deep rooted fears and anxieties centering around the ocean. Overall Bridey was a well rounded character, but for some reason it took me a really long time to connect with her. But eventually I did.

Fynn, the love interest, was fairly cliched. He had a lot of cheesy lines that I have trouble picturing anyone actually saying. But despite the corniness I really enjoyed his character. The relationship between him and Bridey seemed a little rushed at times, but overall they had good chemistry and were fairly enjoyable.

My favorite characters in the story were definitely Bridey’s three sisters. I absolutely loved the relationship between the four girls. It’s not often you find a novel where the siblings love and support each other rather then spend the entire book being rivals or hating each other. It was very refreshing!

There were a lot of other minor characters in the story, such as Bridey’s friends, Morag, and key townsfolk. I had hoped, based on the summary, that Morag would play a bigger role in the book. But regardless she was a very well written character and one of my favorites. However I did find Bridey’s friends to be somewhat annoying and frustrating.

This book was steeped in mythology and mythical creatures, and Marsh definitely managed to put her own unique spin on both. There was nothing cliched about the monsters in this book, which isn’t always easy to find in YA! The plot itself was fantastic, very sound, fast paced, and interesting. It felt like there was a dual storyline to me; the obvious one with the mystery of the missing townsfolk and the monster, and a second more contemporary storyline of Bridey coming into her own and overcoming her fears and anxieties.

Overall I really enjoyed this one. There were definitely things I loved, and things I didn’t. Marsh’s style of writing was beautiful, and the plot was well done. The characters were a mixed bag for me, but the mythology throughout the novel was extremely well done. I was very torn over what rating to give this one. I’m taking half a star off for the many cliched lines from Fynn, as I truly feel Marsh could have done better based on the rest of her writing throughout the book. So I’m giving this one a 4.5/5 star rating. Sarah Glenn Marsh is definitely an author to keep your eyes on! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

2 thoughts on “Fear the Drowning Deep – ARC Review

  1. Shealea says:

    After reading your comment on my review, I just had to check out yours!

    You’re right. We do share a lot of the same sentiments regarding the book. I, too, struggled a bit with Bridey but I think it’s because it’s hard to engage myself with her somewhat solemn narrative. She eventually won me over, though! And I also agree that the romance could have been better.

    Your review is wonderfully written! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

