Timekeeper by Tara Sim – ARC Review

Two o’clock was missing. 

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time–and a destroyed one can stop it completely. 

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors. 

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve. 

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever. 

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab

Review

If you enjoy steampunk then you’re going to love Timekeeper by Tara Sim. This book is set in an alternate Victorian era world, where clocks literally control time. If a clock is damaged then time itself can stop. It was a very unique and interesting idea.

 
This book is definitely a fantasy, mystery, and a romance. One of the things that I enjoyed the most about it was that the romance took a back seat to the plot, world building, and mystery. The plot was interesting, and had just enough surprises to keep things interesting. There were a few predictable plot moments, but nothing that really detracted from the story itself.

 
The world building in this book was absolutely amazing. You can really tell that Sim put a lot of thought and work into developing and understanding this world. I don’t want to say too much about the world itself, because half the fun for me while reading this one was discovering the amazing steampunk Victorian era world the book was set in.

 
One of the other things that I loved about this book was that it was an LGBT romance. The main character, Danny, falls in love with his apprentice Colton. Their romance was a very sweet and adorable one, and I loved them. It’s not often, at least in my experience, that a fantasy novel like this has such a sweet romance -and a LGBT one at that!

 
As for characters, Danny was a brooding main character with a chip on his shoulder. He’s definitely that classic YA brooding boy stereotype that you either love or hate. Colton was Danny’s complete opposite, and very secretive. I enjoyed both characters, but my favorite character by far was Cassie – Danny’s best friend.

 
Overall, this one is a must read. The setting, world building, plot, and mythology throughout the novel were detailed and beautifully written. The characters were enjoyable, and the book itself was very unique. I absolutely loved this one! And do you want to know the best part? There is going to be a sequel! 5/5 stars for me, trust me guys you don’t want to miss this one!

 
Thanks Sky Horse Publishing for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Timekeeper by Tara Sim – ARC Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s