Interview With Tara Sim -Author of Timekeeper

Okay Guys, I am super excited to share my interview with Tara Sim with you! Her YA debut novel comes out on November 1st, 2016 (Sky Pony Press). I was lucky enough to read an ARC version of it, and I have to say that it was absolutely amazing! You can read my full review of Timekeeper here.

But in case you don’t know what Timekeeper is about and don’t have time to read my review right now I’ll include a summary of the novel.

Summary

25760792

Two o’clock was missing. 

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time–and a destroyed one can stop it completely. 

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors. 

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve. 

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever. 

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab

Interview

Now without any further ado, here is the interview. My questions will be in bold and Tara’s answers will be in regular print.

Thank you for taking the time to answer some questions for me! I
absolutely loved Timekeeper! The setting is so unique, and I love the
idea of clocks actually controlling time. How did you come up with the
idea?

Thank you! Most ideas come to me slowly, usually in the form of a
character or a specific image, but the idea for Timekeeper came in like
an arrow. I was obsessed with Big Ben when I studied abroad in London,
and a few years later I wondered what would happen if clock towers like
Big Ben could literally control time. Everything expanded from there.

Since this is your first published book I’d love to know if you
always planned on becoming an author?

My first dream was to become a singer, actually. I carried that dream
around with me for a while, but when I was 14 I realized that I really
loved writing. When I wrote my first finished novel at 15, I knew I
didn’t want to do anything else, and it’s been my dream ever since.

You put so much detail and thought into the world you created for
Timekeeper, it really shines through! Did you have to do a lot of
research for it?

Oh, yes. There were a lot of components that went into the
book—historical facts, representation, mechanical knowledge, how clock
towers even work, how to craft a mystery, etc. Of course, I took several
liberties with these things to make the story flow well, but I think you
need to have a solid grasp of what you’re deviating from before you take
those liberties.

I saw that Timekeeper is going to be part of a series! Will the
second book follow the same characters, or will you be introducing us to
a new cast of characters?

Books 2 and 3 will continue with the same characters as book 1, and
introduce a bunch of new ones as well. Danny’s adventures are far from
over!

I’ve heard of authors saying that occasionally their characters
surprise then by doing something or saying something that they didn’t
intend for them to do. Have any of your characters ever surprised you?

All the time. There’s a scene in book 2, actually, where Danny does
something I didn’t plan for him to do, so I just shrugged and went with
it—and now it’s one of my favorite scenes of the book. Sometimes you
need to ignore the outline when the character is telling you what to do.

If you could give one piece of advice to aspiring authors what would
it be?

Write the story you’re scared to write. Give into the weirdness.
Challenge yourself. Even if you think no one else but you will want it,
write it and pour your heart into it.

In your opinion what is the hardest thing about writing? And what is
the most rewarding thing about writing?

I think revising is one of the most difficult parts of writing for me. I
usually love drafting (although sometimes it’s like pulling teeth), but
taking what I’ve created and mashing it up takes a lot of energy and
tends to make me grumpy. One of the most rewarding things is that “just
finished a scene” or “just finished a chapter” moment and feeling really
good about what you’ve put on paper.

Growing up which books and authors influenced you the most?

The Lord of the Rings, Tamora Pierce, and Harry Potter are my childhood
trifecta.

Are you the type of writer that likes to plan everything in advance?
Or do you just let it come to you as you write?

Some of both. I need some sort of outline to start, which I’ll fill in
as I go. That way I know where I’m going, but I can discover new things
along the way—which is part of the fun.

And to finish off I have to ask, what, if anything can you tell us
about the second Timekeeper novel?

Most of it takes place in India. That’s all I can say for now!

Author Bio – As Found On Goodreads

14118411

Tara Sim is a YA author found in the wilds of the Bay Area, California. When she’s not writing about magic, clocks, and boys, she drinks tea, wrangles cats, and sings opera.

Tara grew up in California, but braved the elements of Virginia to study English/Creative Writing at Hollins University.

Half-Indian and full geek, she eats too many samosas and awkwardly dances to Bhangra music.

TIMEKEEPER (Sky Pony Press, Fall ’16) is her debut YA novel.

Leave a Reply

