Initiate by Laura L. Fox – ARC Review

28435908

The only home Riga Garrison has ever known is the Tunnel, a subterranean research facility buried deep beneath Antarctica’s ice and snow.

Yet, while a safe haven for the last outpost of humanity governed by the Initiate, it is also home to a secret so dark that they will risk anything to protect it.

Surrounded by deceit and faced with exile to a frozen wasteland, Riga must defy not only the Initiate’s top biologists and loyalists but also her own mother, in an attempt to unearth the truth.  

 

Review

Initiate by Laura L. Fox was absolutely magnificent. The world that Fox created, and the story that she crafted, pulled me in and gripped me until the very end. It was an absolute masterpiece, and if I could give it more than five stars I would, because this story definitely deserves it. It was one of my favorite reads of the year so far, and is a MUST buy. Trust me; you do not want to miss out on this one! Go the extra mile a paperback copy on Amazon instead of just buying the eBook copy – you’re going to want to have this one physically sitting on your bookshelf.

Initiate takes place in an underground tunnel based society in Antarctica, and follows the main character Riga as she attempts to uncover the secrets of the only home she has ever known. Riga was a fantastic main character. Fox did a superb job making Riga a well-rounded and highly enjoyable main character. Riga is a feisty, loyal, brave, and tenacious in her search for answers. Riga isn’t without flaws, which is another thing I loved because it makes her a very realistic and relatable character.

Riga wasn’t the only character that I loved in this book though! Fox filled her book with amazing characters, and two of my favorites were definitely Rhys and Mynta. Rhys was the love interest, and the relationship between Rhys and Riga was a very natural and had a slow progression that I love. YA is way too full of “insta-love” between main characters, and is one of my biggest pet peeves when reading YA. So I was very relieved and happy when there was absolutely no “insta-love” in Initiate. Rhys himself was a witty, sincere, and fun character. He perfectly balanced Riga.

Mynta was Riga’s best friend, and the relationship between the two girls is enviable. Their friendship was so well written. Everything from the dialogue between the girls, to the history they shared, to the way they interacted with each other was on point. Mynta herself was quite different in character from Riga, but that was one of the best parts about their friendship.

The plot itself was incredibly well thought out. Fox took the overused dystopian cliché of an ultra-controlling government/system (and the subsequent rebellion) and breathed new life into it. This book was full of twists and turns, and one huge twist in particular that I did not see coming. It’s so rare that a book’s plot can surprise me so I always get really excited when it happens. This is definitely a book that crosses genres; it’s a dystopian novel, but it’s also a science fiction novel, and a mystery novel. The world building was very impressive as well. Fox put so much thought and detail in the world she created, and it definitely paid off. I loved picturing the complex tunnel system that the characters lived in.

This book was fast paced and addictive, I couldn’t put it down! I read it in a single sitting, not stopping for water, food, or sleep. It was THAT good. Laura L. Fox is an author to keep your eyes on! I’m giving Initiate 5/5 stars, and I wish I could give it more!

image_zpstenku1ug.jpg

 

Thank you Oftomes Publishing for sending me a copy of Initiate by Laura L. Fox in exchange for an honest review.

5 thoughts on “Initiate by Laura L. Fox – ARC Review

Leave a Reply

