The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon – ARC Review

28763485

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Review

The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon is a YA contemporary romance that was sent to me by Penguin Random House in exchange for a honest review. Yoon is one of my favorite authors, so I was very excited to receive this book. It had Yoon’s signature style, and all the makings for an epic romance. But unfortunately I wasn’t completely sold on this one. It wasn’t bad by any means. The writing was beautiful, the plot was well developed, and the characters were interesting. Unfortunately for some reason, despite all of the great aspects of this book, this one just didn’t click with me.

 

The plot was pretty interesting. The entire book takes place in the span of a single day, which really intrigued me. But don’t be fooled into thinking that just because this book takes place in a single day that not much happens, because it was plenty eventful. One of my biggest issues with the plot is the fact that this is a romance, and love doesn’t just happen in a single day. Yet, in The Sun is Also a Star love does happen in a single day, and that was one of my major issues with this novel. I’m not a fan of instant love in books, as it is not realistic or –in my opinion- as interesting to read. Yoon did her best not to make it feel like “instalove” but it is rather unavoidable when confronted with the fact that this book takes place in a single day.

 

One of my favorite things about this book was the detail Yoon put in to her characters Jamaican and Korean backgrounds. As Yoon herself is Jamaican and her husband is Korean (according to my google search) I can only assume that the information in the book regarding both cultures is accurate. It was so interesting and fun to have so much cultural information and history present throughout the book; it really gave an extra layer of depth to a storyline that (at times) can be overdone and shallow.

 

Yoon’s distinctive writing style was another thing that I enjoyed about this book. In her previous book Everything, Everything told her story through a completely unique blend of tradition POV, illustrations, letters, notes, and emails. In this new book Yoon brings her style back in a new but just as unique blend of alternating POVs, and time jumps to different characters pasts and futures. Yoon’s writing is also very fun to read because it is beautifully and flawlessly done, and is quite cleaver at times.

 

Now let’s talk about the two main characters. Natasha was the female main character; she’s a science loving cynic. Daniel was the male main character; he’s a poetry loving dreamer. They are polar opposites, and I can only assume that Yoon was going for the “opposites attract” strategy.  Both characters were well written, and Yoon tried hard to have them both change and come together in a natural way… but it just felt off to me. Perhaps it is because I was too focused on the fact that everything was happening in a single day, or maybe it is because I’m just too realistic and cynical to believe that two people that just met can actually truly fall in love in a single day, but whatever the reason the romance between Natasha and Daniel just did not work for me.

 

Overall this was a well written book that I’m sure a lot of people will absolutely love. If you are a fan of YA contemporary romance then you should definitely give this book a shot. Maybe you’ll also find yourself slightly frustrated, or maybe you won’t. Either way this book is worth giving a try, especially if you are a fan of Yoon’s book Everything, Everything. This one is only 3.5/5 stars for me.

 

image1

Leave a Reply

