What Light – ARC Review

29093326Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other.

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.

What Light is a love story that’s moving and life-affirming and completely unforgettable.


Review

What Light by Jay Asher was sent to me in exchange for an honest review. I was super excited to receive What Light because I absolutely loved Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher and was excited to read another book by Asher. And let me just say, What Light did not disappoint.

 

I absolutely love Christmas, and this book came in just the right time of year. If you’re like me and you love all things Christmas, then you’ll love this book. It is a light quick read compared to Thirteen Reasons Why, and nowhere nearly as impactful. But it wasn’t any less enjoyable. The plot was sound, and a pretty standard run of the mill YA plotline: Girl meets troubled boy. But I don’t mind clichés, and I especially don’t mind Christmas-y clichés.

 

The main character, Sierra, was very relatable. Sierra was a kind and happy main character, which I loved. All too often main characters are brooding and full of angst. One of the things that I loved the most about Sierra was the fact that despite the fact that she had two homes, two sets of friends, and basically a Christmas life and her regular life, she never really favored one above the other.

 

The love interest, Caleb, was your typical good looking YA guy with a troubled past. I did find it kind of frustrating that Caleb was still dealing with the backlash of what had happened in his past (I won’t say what as I don’t want to spoil anyone!) years later. The level of backlash he was dealing with seemed slightly excessive to me, yes he would still be dealing with the consequences but this was set years later – I can’t help but feel that people wouldn’t be treating him as if it had happened yesterday.

 

Now my absolute favorite part of the book is probably the thing that would frustrate the most people; the ending. I absolutely loved the ending. It was realistic; it didn’t tie a perfect pretty bow over everything. But it also didn’t leave the reader hanging. Overall this book was the perfect light and fin holiday read, and I would definitely recommend it if you enjoy these types of books. This one was a solid 4/5 stars for me.

 

2 thoughts on “What Light – ARC Review

Leave a Reply

