Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Since my blog has quite a few followers that are not active in the online book community of blogging, bookstagram, or youtube, I want to start off by explaining what this post is going to be about. So for those of you that don’t know what a “tag” post is; it is a series of questions relating to a specific topic that one person creates and then “tags” people to answer. Those people answer the question and then “tag” other people to answer them, and so on and so forth.

 

This particular tag is well known; it is the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag and was created by The Book Archer on YouTube. As you have probably gathered from the name the questions all pertain to the person answering’s unpopular opinions about books. So without any further ado let’s get into it!

 

What is a popular book or series that you didn’t like?

I’m going to be extremely unpopular with my answer to this question, but one of my absolute least favorite book series ever also happens to be one of the most popular book series ever, and is therefore a perfect answer to this question. It’s The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Claire.

I know, I know. Most of you are probably throwing virtual rotten fruit at me right now. I valiantly tried to like this series, but I just never could. Cassandra Claire’s writing style was just not one that I could get into, I found the characters to be cheesy, and the plot to be predictable. In fact I hated this series so much that I have never bothered trying to read any of Cassandra Claire’s other work. Everyone has different taste, and if you loved this series then that is great! I just wasn’t able to.

 

What is a popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love?

I struggled with this one a bit, because it’s hard to judge which books are unpopular as every book and series has people that love it and people that don’t. In the end I decided to go with the Dorothy Must Die series by Danielle Paige. I chose this series because I really enjoyed it, but its overall rating on Goodreads is only a 3/5 stars and most of my bookish friends didn’t like it.

 

What is a love triangle in a book or series where the main character ended up with the person you did not want them to end up with?

I’m going to start off by saying that I hate love triangles. I really hate them. It’s nearly impossible to completely avoid love triangles in YA books though since it is such a popular trope. On the occasion that I do read a book with a love triangle the main character usually ends up with the person that I want them to end up with. The only exception that I can think of at the moment is from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I don’t think I’ll be in danger of spoiling anyone by saying who I wanted Katniss to end up with, but just in case someone reading this hasn’t read the books or watched the movies I’ll just say that I wanted her to end up with the other guy.

 

What is a popular book genre that you hardly reach for?

I read a lot of different genres, but I do have my favorites and my least favorites. The genre or type of book that I usually go out of my way to avoid and hardly ever reach for though would have to be Urban Fantasy.

In case you don’t know what urban fantasy is here is a definition from Wikipedia; urban fantasy is a subgenre of fantasy defined by place; the fantastic narrative has a modern urban setting and is the opposite of regular fantasy which is set in an entirely fictitious world.

 

What is a popular or beloved character that you do not like?

There are quite a few popular or beloved characters that I didn’t like, in fact there are so many that I could probably make a separate post just listing them all. But for the sake of this post I tried to limit myself to a single one, and finally decided on Bella from Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series.

One of the main reasons I didn’t like Bella was because of her inability to function without Edward. It’s not romantic, it’s pathetic. Women all over the world have to live without their significant other every day. There are countless main characters in books that I have read that live through similar situations and continue on (Hermione Granger from Harry Potter comes to mind). There are other reasons why I didn’t like Bella as well, such as the fact that she has the personality of a potato.

 

Who is a popular author that you can’t seem to get into?

Once again this is a question that I could give multiple answers to. Cassandra Claire is the first one that comes to mind though. As I mentioned before when I talked about her Mortal Instruments series, I just don’t like her writing style. She has several other series and I haven’t been able to get into any of them.

 

What is a popular book trope that you are tired of seeing?

Since I already mentioned love triangles in this post I’ll go with the dystopian and/or futuristic world with a corrupt ruler trope. It’s been extremely popular in the last few years, and I’ve enjoyed many books with this trope in it. But it’s gotten to the point where I need a break from it, like that song you love that gets overplayed on the radio.

 

What is a popular book or series that you have no interest in reading?

I have no interest in reading the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. On the surface it has everything I would normally be interested in, but for some reason I just don’t have any interest in reading this series. It’s long, which can be daunting. I also attempted to watch the TV show and did not like it at all, which is probably did not help with the whole not wanting to read the books thing.

 

What is a movie or TV show adaption of a book or series that you like more than the book/s?

This one is incredibly easy to answer. I absolutely love the Game of Thrones TV series. I’ve read the books as well, but the TV show is amazing and I love it. The books are full of detail and complicated plot lines which I think translate onto the screen really well. If you love fantasy, action, adventure, and epic storylines you absolutely need to watch the series or read the books.

 

 

And that is all of the questions for this tag! I decided not to include pictures or summaries for any of the books I talked about since this post was already getting quite long, but if you don’t recognize any of them and want to know more about them just let me know! Also, I’ll be posting regularly again now. I took a month and a bit long hiatus over Christmas and this month to just relax and pre-write some reviews. But I’ll be back to posting on a regular basis now.

6 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. jncahill says:

    Unpopular opinions are always fun!

    Ugh, I had trouble with City of Bones as well. I tried her other series, The Infernal Devices, and loved those though so I might try again. But if I still feel the same about COB as before, then I will probably just move on.

    I agree that Bella was very annoying. Personality of a potato is hilarious but so true!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

