ARC Review – Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta

25226075A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that’s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston. All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin. Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife.

Review

Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta was a mixed bag for me. There were things that I loved, and things that I didn’t enjoy as much. This book was sent to me by Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review. Now with that out of the way, lets jump right in.

 

One of the things that I struggled with while reading this book was the characters. Heather, our main character, was alright I suppose. But I don’t want the main characters I read about to just be alright. I want them to stand out in some way to me. I want them to be interesting. I want to remember them. Heather was not a memorable character, in fact I had to double check in the book that Heather was really the main character’s name because I could not remember. That’s how forgettable she was for me. While her personality was pretty blah for me, her struggles were very real and relatable. However, (TRIGGER WARNING: SELF-HARM) the amount of detail the author put into describing Heather’s cutting was a little disturbing and I wish it had been handled a bit differently. The author spent a lot of time focusing on Heather’s cutting, and not just the aftermath (ie counselling and whatnot)

 

As for the other characters, I really wasn’t a fan. The twins were very cookie cutter type characters, and quite predictable. The love interest, Robby, was your standard run of the mill YA love interest. While that normally wouldn’t bother me, that combined with how forced the romance felt and how bland all the other characters were… I just couldn’t get myself to like Robby.

 

Now, another thing I didn’t like… the ending. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I will say that I didn’t dislike the ending because of how it ended but because of how incredibly rushed it was. It felt like the author gave up and threw her hands in the air and said “let’s just get this over with”. I like my endings to be more thought out, and well planned.

 

Now, I know it must sound like I hated the book. But there were a few things that I enjoyed. One of those things was the magic and witches plotline. The author did a great job in creating a unique magical situation, and the parts of the book dedicated to magic were beautifully written. I wish that the plotline focusing on magic and witches had started much sooner, because it really was my favourite part of the book. Another thing that I loved about this book was the setting. This book is set in Scotland, and I absolutely loved that.

 

Overall I wanted to like this book a lot more than I did. This one was only a 2 out of 5 stars for me.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s