Missing by Kelley Armstrong – ARC Review

25487124The only thing Winter Crane likes about Reeve’s End is that soon she’ll leave it. Like her best friend did. Like her sister did. Like most of the teens born in town have done. There’s nothing for them there but abandoned mines and empty futures. They’re better off taking a chance elsewhere. The only thing Winter will miss is the woods. Her only refuge. At least it was. Until the day she found Lennon left for dead, bleeding in a tree. But now Lennon is gone too. And he has Winter questioning what she once thought was true. What if nobody left at all? What if they’re all missing?

 

Review

 

Missing by Kelley Armstrong was sent to me by Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review. Okay, so most of you know by now that I am a fan of Kelley Armstrong’s books. She is absolutely amazing at writing suspenseful books, and at combining the paranormal with reality (although Missing isn’t paranormal at all). I did enjoy Missing, although Armstrong has written other books that I have liked much better.

 

One of the things that I loved about Missing is something that I love in almost every one of Armstrong’s books; and that is the suspense and how creepy it is. If you’re ever looking for the perfect book to read at Halloween, look no further. However, I found the graphic violence in regards to the feral dogs to be a bit much. I’m a dog lover, so it perhaps upset me more than it would other people. But there were multiple, graphic, scenes surrounding violence against dogs and it upset me, I had to skim over those parts.

 

The main character, Winter, was very interesting. She was relatable in a lot of ways, and was well rounded in the fact that she had genuine character flaws –and personally I love that because it makes a character more “real” for me. The supporting characters were also very likeable, and I enjoyed them. The brothers were really great, and probably my favourite characters. Another thing that I loved was the romance. It was sweet, and well written. But what I liked most about it was that it took a backseat to the plot, which is a big plus for me.

 

Now, the plot itself was fairly predictable at times – but I’m not sure how much of that is because I’ve read so many of her books and know what to expect and how much is just genuine predictability. Predictability doesn’t bother me, I’m only mentioning it because I know it makes a difference to some people. There were a few things that I think could have been done better, but I don’t want to say what and spoil anything. But for the most part those things were fairly minor.

 

Overall this book was a 3.5 out of 5 stars for me. It an engaging read, and I read it in a single sitting.

 

Leave a Reply

