No Good Deed by Kara Connolly – ARC Review

32766757Ellie Hudson is the front-runner on the road to gold for the U.S. Olympic archery team. All she has to do is qualify at the trials in jolly old England. When Ellie makes some kind of crazy wrong turn in the caverns under Nottingham Castle—yes, that Nottingham—she ends up in medieval England.

Ellie doesn’t care how she got to the Middle Ages; she just wants to go home before she gets the plague. But people are suffering in Nottingham, and Ellie has the skills to make it better. What’s an ace archer to do while she’s stuck in Sherwood Forest but make like Robin Hood?

Pulled into a past life as an outlaw, Ellie feels her present fading away next to daring do-gooding and a devilishly handsome knight. Only, Ellie is on the brink of rewriting history, and when she picks up her bow and arrow, her next shot could save her past—or doom civilization’s future.

 

Review

 

No Good Deed by Kara Connolly is a retelling of Robin Hood, it also features time travel, and a female as Robin Hood. So naturally I jumped at the chance to review it! So, thank you Penguin Random House for the review copy in exchange for an honest review. As I’m sure most of you know by now, I am a huge fan of retellings, and I also love time travel books. So finding a book that has both of those things? Yeah, pretty much the best thing ever.

 

No Good Deed was such a fun, lighthearted read. It was funny, and sassy. It didn’t take itself too seriously, and it was a perfect book for summer. Now, as with any time travel book there are some pretty major historical inaccuracies. But if I cared about historical accuracy in my magical Robin Hood time travel YA novel then… well I wouldn’t be reading it in the first place would I? So with that disclaimer out of the way let talk about the plot.

 

The plot was fast paced, and a lot of fun. There was a decent amount of action, and it had a really nice flow. There were a few plot holes, and things that were just never explained (such as how Ellie ended up time travelling) but those things didn’t really matter to me too much. This isn’t the type of book you take super seriously, it’s mind candy – It tastes good, but has no nutritional value. The plot kept me engaged, and interested. I read this book in a single sitting.

 

The main character Ellie was great. I loved the fact that once she realized that she was becoming Robin Hood that she totally went with it and just had fun with it. I loved that she was determined to do what was right, even when at times she thought it would be in detriment to herself or her ability to find a way to get back to her own time. There were so many great characters though! Will was one of my favorites; his personality was so cheeky and fun. I also loved James, and how exasperated he got with Ellie in a good natured way. Much was also wonderful, I loved his enthusiasm. There was a touch of romance sprinkled throughout the book, but it almost wasn’t even note-worthy and certainly wasn’t a main focus.

 

I know I’ve used the word “fun” to describe this book multiple times now, but it really is the best description. I loved the crazy situations Ellie got herself into, I loved how each aspect of the Robin Hood legend formed, I loved the characters, I pretty much loved everything about this book. If you like lighthearted check your mind at the door books then this one is for you. 4/5 Stars.

Leave a Reply

